Free 10 Minute Consultation

Can You Get Your Name Off the Sex Offender Registry in Colorado?

On behalf of Dolan + Zimmerman LLP January 12, 2022

Being on the sex offender registry can be a significant barrier to many of the freedoms we all take for granted in our lives, including where we are allowed to work, live, and socialize. If you live in Colorado as a registered sex offender and are wondering if you have to stay on this list forever, it’s important to analyze your specific circumstances to see whether you can be removed early. If you believe you qualify to be removed from the registry, contact an attorney right away. 

Who is Required to Register?

If you’ve been convicted of – or convicted of attempting to commit – certain sex-related crimes, you will be required to register on the sex offender registry. Some of the most common crimes that lead to the registry requirement include sexual assault, unlawful sexual contact, sexual assault on a child, and aggravated incest. This list is not exhaustive, and there are many other criminal acts that will require a person to register if they are convicted. 

Additionally, if you reside in Colorado but were convicted of a similar crime in a different state, you will need to register as a sex offender in Colorado as well. 

Being Removed From The Registry

Certain convictions carry a requirement of registering as a sex offender for the rest of that person’s life. Some of those crimes include felony sexual assault, sexual assault on a child, incest, aggravated incest, being labeled a sexually violent predator (SVP), and individuals who are convicted more than once for unlawful sexual behavior. 

If your conviction was for a class 1, 2, or 3 felony, you should be eligible to be removed from the registry after 20 years, and if convicted of a class 4, 5, or 6 felony, you should be eligible to be removed from the registry after 10 years. If you were convicted of a class 1 misdemeanor for sexual assault or sexual contact, you may be able to be removed after 10 years. For other misdemeanors that require registry, you may be eligible to be removed from the registry after 5 years. 

If your sentence was deferred or adjudicated or the individual charged with the crime was under the age of 18, they can be removed from the registry once their case is dismissed. 

If you believe you are eligible to be removed from the registry, you should consider contacting a lawyer and letting them assist you with the following steps:

  1. Petition the court to discontinue your sex offender registration
  2. Notify the specific law enforcement agency that required your registry 
  3. Notify the prosecuting attorney in the jurisdiction of that law enforcement agency, and the prosecuting attorney who convicted you

Additionally, you will have to fill out the required forms and also show that you have completed any other court-mandated requirements, such as therapy, educational requirements, and other conditions set by the courts.  

After you fill out and file the appropriate paperwork and notify the relevant parties, a court hearing will be scheduled. The judge at that hearing will then decide if you should be removed from the registry. If so, they will sign an order to discontinue sex offender registration.

Being on the sex offender registry can have a significant impact on people’s lives, so if you are no longer required to register, it’s important to petition the court to be removed as soon as possible. If you have any questions or need help with any of these steps, contact our criminal defense lawyer in Colorado today for help.